Afraid of the Ball?

23 Sep
Our dog is totally nuts over a tennis ball.
She trots throughout the house, ball in mouth. If no one’s willing to toss it, she’ll play alone. She might chew on it, pretend to bury it in her bed, or nose it around on the floor. She naps with it under her chin, barks with it in her mouth, and paces when it’s stuck under the furniture. Even when she’s in full sleep, one bounce of that ball bolts her into action. 
Shaka’s ball is her favorite thing. It’s who she is.
Yet, any ball larger than she is appears to be a source of terror. Volleyball, basketball, beachball. Doesn’t matter. She becomes paralyzed.
Now I know Shaka can’t play with these other balls the same way, and maybe I spend too much time alone with this dog during the day. But, she gives me glimpses of human behavior sometimes. The things we are passionate about can often be the things we’re afraid of doing in a bigger way.
Consider the one who loves to play with children, but is hesitant to commit as a mentor. Someone who’s talented in art, poetry, writing, but doesn’t want anyone else to see their work–it may not be good enough. The one who loves to study, but won’t commit to teach. A person who sings, but never in public.
Passions and abilities are woven into each of us with a plan in mind.

For you created my inmost being;
   you knit me together in my mother’s womb. 
I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made;
   your works are wonderful,
   I know that full well. 
My frame was not hidden from you
   when I was made in the secret place,
   when I was woven together in the depths of the earth. 
Your eyes saw my unformed body;
   all the days ordained for me were written in your book
   before one of them came to be  Psalms 139: 13 – 16 (NIV).

What might we be missing out on if we’re afraid to do the things that seem too big for us? 

For we are God’s handiwork, created in Christ Jesus to do good works, which God prepared in advance for us to do     Ephesians 2:10 (NIV).

Leave a Comment. Can you share an experience when you acted in faith to overcome fear? You might just encourage one of us. Or, tell us what thing you feel compelled to do yet overwhelmed to try? Let us encourage you.
 

One Response to “Afraid of the Ball?”

  1. vondaskelton September 25, 2011 at 2:28 am #

    I’m so glad God can do big things with us little people. 🙂 (I’d love to meet Shaka!)

Leave a comment