Where’d You Get That Line? – Choosing Meaningful and Real Words

2 Dec

“I wish I had a hundred fingers to count how much I missed you.” My nine-year-old shared what he planned to say to his grandma after school.

You see, their grandma, my mom-in-law, lives with us. But, she’s been away for 6 weeks after fighting off some major illness and building back strength.

Yesterday, she came home. (Welcome home, G’Ma!) As my sons left for school, I reminded them she’d be here when they returned.

So, I thought this 100 finger line was way too cute, quick, and clever to be his own saying. Plus, my boys like to quote such things as Phineas and Ferb. There’s a track record here for one-liners.

“That’s a sweet line, where are you quoting it from?” I asked.

He claimed it as his own. (Okay, actually he said, “From me, from my face.” Charming, huh?)

My ten-year-old then stepped in for some back up. “I can verify. I have never heard that anywhere.”

In that instant, the sweetness of the statement magnified about a kajillion times.

And it got me thinking. Thinking about how many churchy words and repeated phrases I sometimes use.

I know God doesn’t judge my prayers and loves to hear from me. But I sense His presence so much more when my words are fresh and specific to that day’s situation, voiced in my personality.

This is something I encourage with my kids, reminding them not to say the same thing to God every day. You wouldn’t do that to a friend at school. You talk about what’s happening today.

It also reminded me of one of my favorite King of Queen’s episodes. The one where Carrie finds out Doug quoted a movie with BJ McKay and a monkey–or something equally as flattering– when he proposed to her. If you ever watched the show, you know how Carrie responded.

I don’t want to treat my King in a way that’s any less than my most sincere. It’s about constantly checking my heart.

I also don’t want to use churchy language to convey to my children how fabulous and real Jesus is. I’m not putting down church, love church. And I want my kids to know Biblical language and truth.

But I also carefully choose everyday language they have comparison and understanding for to convey how present and active Christ  is in our lives. After all, Jesus taught this way, right? Common day comparisons the people understood such as wine skins, seeds, sheep.)

I’ll still use my favorite scripture and words. But, I’ll also be watchful that I don’t just use routine words, trying every time to keep my heart personal to Him.

When do you experience the most genuine conversations with God?

How do you model and encourage it with your children?

2 Responses to “Where’d You Get That Line? – Choosing Meaningful and Real Words”

  1. Laura December 2, 2011 at 9:45 pm #

    “From me, from my face.” That is the sweetest! And your older one saying, “I can verify.”!!

    I love this story…but even more the sentiment behind it, Jeanette. He (and our kids) need to hear from our heart. Not canned phrases but real words from an open heart. What a great reminder, Jeanette!

    • Jeanette Edgar December 2, 2011 at 10:49 pm #

      Thanks for the comment, Laura. If anyone understands boy humor, I’m sure it’s you.

Leave a Reply

