Candy, Cash or Christ – How can we build spiritual appetites?

29 Nov

If you stood in a room full of kids and announced you had a prize for anyone who could hop on one foot for 30 seconds, what do you picture happening next?

Probably a room with shaking walls from all the bouncing, and children falling over one another.

Undoubtedly, some kid would scream out, “Is it candy?”

Thank goodness we outgrow this behavior. Well, at least some of you probably have.

Now picture standing in an auditorium of adults and calling out, “Loads of cash and buffet tables, just down the hall. First come, first serve. No limits.”

Perhaps everyone would look around like, “Yeah, right. Too good to be true….What’s the catch?”

Cynicysm, or let’s call it realism, does seem to come with age.

But if a few bold folks decided to go check it out, a stampede would ensue. What if it is true? What if they get it all?

Psalm 19:9-11 (NIV)

9 The fear of the LORD is pure,
   enduring forever.
The decrees of the LORD are firm,
   and all of them are righteous.

 10 They are more precious than gold,
   than much pure gold;
they are sweeter than honey,
   than honey from the honeycomb.

11 By them your servant is warned;
   in keeping them there is great reward.

Respect of God.  Knowledge of His word. These are more desireable than gold.

His decrees bring more sweetness to life than honey.

Not that God’s Word should be more desireable, but that it is; whether we realize it or not. 

Verse 11 says His word illuminates His servant, and brings a great reward.

As adults, we try to curb our natural desire for foods that are unhealthy.

But, money? Another story. It’s a necessity after all.

Yet the temptation to crave more than we need has us acting much like children with a sack full of halloween candy. I’m as guilty as anyone.

How can we invite more of God’s illuminating word into our lives?  Are we as willing to do it as a kid hopping on one foot for candy?

How can we foster our children viewing God’s Word as desireable?

For me, praying for desire for God’s Word has transformed my life. And having my kids walk in on me in the midst of Bible reading or prayer has taught them more than any direct instruction I’ve ever given.

Leave a comment. What are you doing to grow your own appetite, or encourage that of your children?

4 Responses to “Candy, Cash or Christ – How can we build spiritual appetites?”

  1. LynnHugginsBlackburn (@LynnHBlackburn) November 29, 2011 at 6:25 pm #

    Great post. I wish I could honestly say I crave God more than chocolate, but I’m not there yet. I’m like you though – I also found that when I asked God to give me a hunger and thirst for Him, He did. And it had a transformative impact on everything I do.

    I try to talk to my kids about what I’m doing. When “quiet” time doesn’t happen before they wake up, I’ll tell them, “Mommy is going to read her Bible and spend some time with God” or in the middle of an insane afternoon sometimes we stop and pray – outloud – for calm spirits. My prayer is that enjoying God will seem natural and easy and normal to them as they grow up.

    • Jeanette Edgar November 29, 2011 at 6:36 pm #

      Love this, Lynn, “enjoying God will seem natural, easy and normal for them.” Seeing you do it and praying it over them definitely builds the appetite! Thanks for commenting.

  2. Glenda Mills November 30, 2011 at 12:54 am #

    Love your post Jeanette. During Thanksgiving week, Dave and I were in PA at my son’s house. His son Caleb, six years old, spent time with both Dave and I a couple of mornings while we were reading our Bibles. After the first day, he promised to do it again. Loved it!!
    Keep writing Jeanette. You’re making a difference in peoples lives.
    God bless,
    Glenda

    • Jeanette Edgar November 30, 2011 at 7:47 pm #

      What a beautiful image that brings to mind! One of my accountability friends shared how a niece discovered her during a morning Bible study/prayer time over Thanksgiving. She wanted to know ALL about it. How do you do it? Why? How often? And just yesterday, a sweet teen posted to me about desiring more God in her life. Kids are interested! Lord, show us how to nuture them to You.

Leave a Reply

