Thankful for Beautiful Things

22 Nov
Hair dryers, cosmetics, exercise equipment. . . or at least those great suck-you-in undergarments (sometimes I’m extra grateful for those).  Since November began, I’ve enjoyed reading many wonderful lists of things friends are thankful for. And though most of us use them every day, I’ve not seen a list including things to make us beautiful.
I guess in all practicality, I am thankful for such things. Or maybe it’s a love/hate relationship. They certainly get a lot of attention from me. 
But, today, I’ve listed some truly beautiful things–favorite things–to share with you.
1. The sound of crunching leaves on a brisk morning walk
2. Smiles of a baby when sleeping
3. Belly laughter…you know that real deep kind
4. An elderly couple holding hands
5. The sound and feel of a pencil writing smoothly and quickly on the page 
6. A breeze on your face with sunshine beaming down
7. Knowing God is talking to you and you can hear Him
8. Helping someone just because you can
9. Knowing you are loved with no fear of losing it
10. Your loyal dog following you around just to be close to you
11. Snow falling
12. The silver of ice on bare tree limbs
13. Rocks in the mountain stream and the rippling sound the water makes
14. Fireflies in the night air
15. New friendships
16. An unexpected letter from a friend
17. Forgiveness – both to give and to receive
18.  Bright blue sky
19. Belonging
20. Tall pine trees, red dirt, and blue sky
21. The waterfall at the end of a long hike
22. The anticipation of the waterfall at the end of a long hike
23. The beginning of a trail you’ve never taken
24.  Certainty
25.  Discovery
26. Freedom
27. A singing child when he doesn’t know you’re listening
28. Vastness of the ocean
29. The night sky lit up with the moon and stars
30. Seeing something for the first time with someone you love
31.  Knowing you made a difference
32. Holding a loved one’s hand as they slip into eternity
33. Fall weather after a hot summer
34.  A listening friend
35.  Seeing your child gain confidence
36.  A life lived on purpose 
As I reflect on the list, almost every one of them involves a relationship or part of creation; something I can’t experience without God providing it.
At my house, we have loads of things to be thankful for which are just that: “things.” But the truly beautiful things aren’t “things” at all. 
And here’s the most beautiful thing I’m thankful for:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kJM0hFvz_64&feature=related
How many beautiful things can you see? I’d love to read some in the comments.
8 Responses to “Thankful for Beautiful Things”

  1. Vonda Skelton November 22, 2011 at 4:25 pm #

    Thank you for your beautifully-written list of things you’re thankful for. What a joy to open our eyes to the blessings He has for us everyday!

    As you know, I’m posting on Facebook everyday 5 things I’m thankful for–and I can’t repeat anything until Thanksgiving. Now that’s one sure-fire way to open my eyes!

    • Jeanette Edgar November 22, 2011 at 8:58 pm #

      Glad you’ve got some fresh ideas! I’ve been reading your lists and it’s fun to see those. Enjoy your Thanksgiving.

  2. Laura November 22, 2011 at 9:10 pm #

    Love your list, Jeanette! I was just telling my sweet daughter-in-law about your testimony and ministry and how thankful I am thatt the Lord put me at the conference to have fellowship with you all.

    I’ve been listing on my blog all month, and it’s incredible what it does for the heart. Have you read 1000 Gifts by Anne Voskamp?

    Have a wonderful Thanksgiving, my friend.

    • Jeanette Edgar November 23, 2011 at 12:50 am #

      Hi,Laura! I haven’t read it, but that hashtag is all over twitter (#1000gifts). I’ve gotta check it out. Have a wonderful time with your family.

  3. Adriana Vermillion November 23, 2011 at 6:06 am #

    How beautiful! Love all of the reasons you listed to be thankful 🙂
    I am also thankful that I met you, I feel like God gave me a reason to cry and laugh on our first night at CCC because of your beautiful testimony. May the Lord bless you each day and Happy Thanksgiving month 🙂

    Blessings!

    • Jeanette Edgar November 23, 2011 at 7:05 pm #

      Thanks for such kind words, Adriana. My mind drifts back to the lake house often. Hope this week has you enjoying some relaxed time with family and then you are joyfully busy with your work.

  4. Glenda Mills November 28, 2011 at 7:36 pm #

    Thank you Jeanette for sharing! I love to make those lists. Have been doing so since I read “A thousand Blessings”. I especially like the utube by Twila, one of my favorite artists and favorite songs.

    • Jeanette Edgar November 28, 2011 at 8:42 pm #

      Thanks, Glenda. We had a soloist sing How Beautiful at our wedding. A fave of mine for sure:)

Leave a Reply

