Who is the Mean Ballerina?

16 Sep

I’ve had to answer several questions this week after people received email messages from me signed by “The Mean Ballerina.”

First, I don’t look anything like a ballerina. Second, am I mean? Well, that point might not be as absolute.

Here’s the story.

My husband thought it’d be funny to edit the message my Blackberry tags onto any emails it sends. Rather than reading, “Sent via Blackberry,” he edited the line to read, “The Mean Ballerina.”

I got one foot in the door on Sunday morning when someone said, “Hey, I’ve got a question for you….”

“I know what it is.” The night before I’d remembered using my phone to ‘reply to all’ on a large church email.

“Okay then, tell me.” He raised his coffe cup to his lips.

“Mean Ballerina,right?”

He nods.

“It was my self-coined CB handle at the age of three.”

He laughs and I tell the whole story.

Before the cell phone, my parents used CBs on the road sometimes, particularly when we moved. They had handles, so I chose my own. And “The Mean Ballerina” was born.

It stuck as a sometimes nickname through the years. Even though it has nothing to do my abilities or my disposition (I hope.)

Perhaps my husband’s phone prank is fair payback for calling my older sister, Liz, her family nickname when I went to high school. She spent her senior year with everyone calling her Buffy.

Nicknames are fun and only those who know us very well are usually privy to the funniest names.

Do you recognize God by all of His names? They’re not funny, and they do have something to do with His abilities. The closer you get to Him, the more you experience all He is.

Here’s a list you can study.  Pick one to explore.

ELOHIM: POWERFUL GOD  Genesis 1:1

EL SHADDAI: GOD ALMIGHTY Genesis 17: 1 – 9; 35:9 – 15

EL ELYON: GOD MOST HIGH Genesis 14:17-24

ADONAI: LORD Isaiah 6:1-9

YAHWEH JEHOVAH: EXTERNAL GOD Exodus 3:13 – 15

JEHOVAH JIREH: THE LORD WILL PROVIDE Genesis 22:1 – 14

JEHOVAH ROPHE: THE LORD IS HEALING Exodus 15:22 – 26

JEHOVAH NISSI: THE LORD OUR BANNER  Exodus 17:8 – 16

JEHOVAH M’KADDESH: THE LORD WHO SANCTIFIES YOU  Leviticus 19:1-2; 20:7 – 8

JEHOVAH SHALOM: THE LORD IS PEACE  Judges 6:11-24

JEHOVAH ROHI: THE LORD OUR SHEPHERD Psalm 23

JEHOVAH TSIDKENU: THE LORD OUR RIGHTEOUSNESS Jeremiah 23:5-6

JEHOVAH SABAOTH: THE LORD OF HOSTS 1 Samuel 17:45

JEHOVAH SHAMMAH: THE LORD IS THERE (GLORY) Ezekiel 48:35

 It’s your turn. Give up one of your inside nicknames in the comments and how you got it.

Leave a Reply

