Opportunities to be Different

9 Jun

So, yesterday I went to the grocery store. We needed a new gas tank for the outside grill. Hubby said I had to take the old one back in, but he didn’t tell me not to actually go inside the store.

So, I went directly to the customer service desk. I waited in line while the cashier went back and forth with a young-looking guy who wanted to buy cigarettes. But, he “forgot” his license.

The cashier used the intercom to call another worker to the desk. While I’m waiting, I asked if I was in the right place to get gas for my grill, explaining I’d never done it before. She said yes.

So, I waited. I listened as they decided to sell the tobacco to the guy “this one time.”  

When it was finally my turn, the cashier told me how much I owed. I explained I had a few more items to purchase and wanted to use a $5 off $50 coupon. So, I asked, “Should I go get my other items and then come check out here?”

“You can buy the gas through the regular line,” she answers.

So, I started into the rest of the store, pushing my cart with the old gas tank and my three children following behind.

 Then, another worker, the one who made the final decision to sell the tobacco without an ID, tells me it’s against OSHA law for me to be in the store with the tank. I apologized, perplexed the other lady didn’t tell me when I asked. The worker took the tank and we went about our shopping.

Then, in the check out line, another worker said, “Was that your tank out there?”

“Yes, I need a new one.”

“You can’t bring that in the store.”

“Yes, she already told me.” I gestured to the cashier a line over.

“Yeah, I know she did,” he replied.

Okay, that’s when my irritation level spilled out. “Oh, you know she already told me, but thought you needed to tell me again?”

They all stared at me now. So, I kept going, adding one more little comment. “It’s not like I sold someone tobacco without any ID.”

Silence.

We finished paying and left the store with many apologies being made to us.

I didn’t yell. I didn’t use coarse language. Still, I felt guilty. I prayed silently and the answer was clear. Go apologize.

Really?

Yes, go apologize.

So, with kids in tow, we drove back. I walked through the parking lot to where the man was collecting carts. “I’m sorry I got flustered about the gas. It wasn’t you, I just felt ganged up on. You were doing your job.”    

He accepted it without any fuss.

Onward inside. The ladies were surprised. “I just had to come back and apologize.”

“Oh, we’re all human. We all get like that sometimes.” One lady answered.

“Yes, we do,” I agreed. “I guess the only way for us to be different is what we do next. Jesus told me in my heart to come back and apologize, so I had to.”

What opportunities has God given you lately to be different?

2 Responses to “Opportunities to be Different”

  1. Robin June 9, 2011 at 10:48 pm #

    LOL! I’m sorry, I just had to laugh out loud. I can’t believe you said that! You are a bigger person than me though. I don’t think I would have gone back to apologize. I would have just let it grind on my nerves the rest of the day. I’m learning so much from you!!

    • Jeanette Edgar June 10, 2011 at 2:27 am #

      Thanks, Robin! Yeah, we have a new policy that I don’t return the gas tank for the grill any more:)

Leave a Reply

