A Showy Love

16 Feb

Ever know something you should do, but you just don’t feel like it?

What’s the cure? 

A showy love – I found it in my Bible.  

1 John 3:18  Dear children, let us not love with words

or speech, but with actions and in truth.  NIV

Earlier this week,  I was feeling quite discontent. I need a haircut. I haven’t gotten much writing done. I haven’t gotten much sleep. I need to clean my floors. I don’t like my short-sleeved clothes and I need them this week. I…I…I…

Showing love in action has helped me. My mother-in-law is in the hospital. I spent the night with her on Monday, am watching my toddler nephew today, am going back to the hospital tomorrow. And my hair is still in a ponytail, complete with a bobby pin to hold back too long bangs. My floors are still dirty. But, my broody attitude is gone.

Doing stuff out of love and obedience even when you don’t feel like it can actually make you start to feel like it.

John 3:18 – 20 in The Message version reads:

My dear children, let’s not just talk about love; let’s practice real love. This is the only way we’ll know we’re living truly, living in God’s reality. It’s also the way to shut down debilitating self-criticism, even when there is something to it. For God is greater than our worried hearts and knows more about us than we do ourselves.

I’ve been on the receiving end of showy love this week also. A friend coming over in the middle of the night to watch my kids, a sister driving hours out of the way to help me get back home, sweet emails from praying friends.

This Valentine’s week, let’s remember to show love, and trust God to send his goodness to us through that love.

Leave a Reply

