Defining Faith

2 Feb

A title like “Defining Faith” may be misleading. Perhaps you’re expecting an entry about a faith so powerful through a circumstance so critical, that it became a definining life moment. 

Hope you’re not too disappointed, but what I have in mind is actually defining the word faith. There are lots of scriptures on faith, there are other definitions ranging from Websters Dictionary to Martin Luther King, Jr.

I’d like to hear what some of you out there think is a good definition of “faith,” using any of the references above or your own words. Even a metaphor will do, like the one my son gave to the word “glass” in kindergarten: A glass is a house for chocolate milk. 

So, please play along. What’s faith?

I’ve got a free book to send to someone. So on February 8th, I’ll draw randomly from the names of people who comment. If you win, you can send me an email with a mailing address and I’ll send you the book (and no, it isn’t written by me!) 

8 Responses to “Defining Faith”

  1. M. C. Spellman February 2, 2011 at 10:03 pm #

    “Faith is the assurance of things hoped for – the conviction of things not seen.” – not original (Hebrews 11:1)

    • Jeanette Edgar February 2, 2011 at 10:59 pm #

      That’s a wonderful verse, from the beginning of what’s often called the “faith chapter.” We’ve got a great start, thanks so much for posting. Who else will play?

  2. Robin Price February 3, 2011 at 9:19 am #

    F – For
    A – Answers
    I – I
    T – Trust
    H – Him

    • Jeanette Edgar February 3, 2011 at 1:33 pm #

      Thanks, Robin. I like it. It makes me ask another question: If we picture ourselves telling someone, (a friend, our child, a parent), “Trust me,” what are we asking for? What is evidence of their trust?

      Let’s keep going, give us a definition of faith, or thoughts on the trust scenario above.

  3. Gina Fedderson February 5, 2011 at 9:10 pm #

    My favorite definition of faith from my Bible…reliance, complete trust. I also like the definition for faithful…firm in adherence.

    • Jeanette Edgar February 5, 2011 at 10:05 pm #

      Thanks for including the “faithful” definition, I like that.

  4. liz miller February 7, 2011 at 9:05 pm #

    Oftentimes for me, faith is remembering, believing, and trusting that my God is the same on my darkest nights as He is on my brightest days. He is good. He loves me. He is in control. And He has a plan. After all, He was Lord not only on that most glorious Sunday morning; He was also Lord on that darkest of Friday afternoons, when it seemed all hope was lost.

    • Jeanette Edgar February 7, 2011 at 9:40 pm #

      This brought tears to my eyes. It also reminded me of Hebrews 13:8, Jesus is the same yesterday, today and forever!

Leave a Reply

