Is it really such a big deal?

28 Jan

It wasn’t a peaceful night in my house last night. Two-and-a-half hours after bedtime, I find my boys awake with their DS games synced and in play.

It may not sound like a huge deal, but that’s how sin works. It doesn’t sound so bad at first.

It was a big deal. I got angry. I sinned as a result of my anger. Then I hated myself for sinning. It’s just a winding spiral – rebelliousness, disobedience, lying, willfully going against what you clearly know you should do.

I considered my emotions: anger, hurt, disrespect – just glimpses of what I do to my Heavenly Father every time I sin.

This morning, my boys were so tentative. They felt the distance between us because of their behavior. My own angry behavior last night only compounded the distance. Sin separates. Thank God I could use it as a teaching moment with them this morning.

All sin matters. All sin builds into further destruction if not confessed, and turned away from. There are consequences, but because of Christ, there is also grace. (John 1: 16 – 17)

Tonight, my boys will still enjoy the plans they had. That’s grace, not something they deserve, but they will be given it. Yet, they will also have a punishment. A few infact. All things DS are put up for an indefinite amount of time. Allowance they’d just been given is gone,  and no computer time.

Are they loved? YES. Are they forgiven? YES. Are they disciplined? YES.

Just like me.

In Mere Christianity, C. S. Lewis writes about the differences between “being good” for the christian and non-christian.  “They [non-christians] hope, by being good, to please God if there is one; or…at least hope to deserve approval from good men. But the Christian thinks any good he does comes from the Christ-life inside him. He does not think God will love us because we are good, but that God will make us good because He loves us; just as the roof of a greenhouse does not attract the sun because it is bright, but becomes bright because the sun shines on it.”

Becoming. By grace, I’m still becoming.

Leave a Reply

