Know No Fear

21 Jan

Have you ever considered how impossible it is to not know what you already know?

You may have to read that sentence again. Basically, it is impossible to “unknow” something. Such as, once I know 4 quarters makes a dollar, I cannot stop my brain from automatically calculating it that way. And once I know something about a person, I cannot take that out of my perception of them; be it negative or positive or neutral, it is part of my lense through which I now see.

I considered this for the second time in recent months as I read Hebrews Chapter 2. Verses 14 – 15 say, “….he (Jesus Christ) too shared in their humanity so that by his death he might destroy him who holds the power of death — that is, the devil — and free those who all their lives were held in slavery by their fear of death (NIV, emphasis added).

I’ll admit, the actual process of dying, depending on the means by which it will come, isn’t something I look forward to. However, I cannot say I fear death; nor do I have any memory of fearing death. Why? Because I was blessed to be raised in church and cannot remember a time of not knowing that Jesus paid my debt, and surrender to him means heaven comes after this life.

I cannot unknow that. I cannot remember ever not knowing that. 

Today I am celebrating my mom’s birthday, who has now entered God’s eternal presence.  And as best I can, knowing what I know, I’m praising my saviour that no fear was present as she went home to him. Not in her and not in me, nor has there been since. No doubt, no hesitation, no slavery to fearing what’s become of her or that I will join her there one day.

 May we not fail to praise God for the wonderful truths we know because of his love, his grace and his word. May our hearts yearn to share Jesus with those who don’t know.

2 Responses to “Know No Fear”

  1. Sharee Owens Munger January 24, 2011 at 5:11 am #

    Jeanette, I never knew what a gifted writer you are. What a beautiful testimony and what a powerful message. I thought about your precious Mother on her birthday. She was always so very proud of both of her girls and would have enjoyed reading this. (That is one beautiful picture of you and Liz with your Momma). Love you!

    • Jeanette Edgar January 24, 2011 at 2:05 pm #

      Thank you, Sharee. I didn’t know writing was my passion until a few years ago. Once I gave up my own plans completely to God, he graciously showed himself to me in a way I’d never known, and then the writing as well. I love you 😉

Leave a Reply

