Run From Dollar Tree

16 Aug

No, I don’t have anything against Dollar Tree. Actually, I haven’t been there in quite some time. Maybe I’ll plan a visit soon.

Joined by my young son this morning during my Bible reading time, I shared one of the verses from today with him.

1 Corinthians 10:14  Therefore, my dear friends, flee from idolatry.  (NIV)

“What’s an idol?” I asked.

“It’s something you praise instead of God,” he said.

“That’s right. And not just praise, but think about, want more or like better,”  I said.  “And what does flee mean?”

“Umm…” 

“It means to run away from something,” I said.

“Oh yeah, I learned that on a video game.”  His answer raised my hopes that those games aren’t totally useless.

“So, what is Paul saying when he tells his friends to flee from idolatry?” 

“To run away from Dollar Tree!” he answered.

He knew he’d made a play on words. He is quite smart, but he didn’t realize how fitting the answer was.  He likes to go to Dollar Tree, at least he used to.  Any time he got a bit of money, that’s what he wanted to do. These days, he asks to go to Game Trade or a similar store.

Then I turned the question on myself. I knew the answer. I need to flee from local real estate listings. A few years ago, I needed to flee from television. Our desires and interests change. We need to stay aware of what they are and if they are out of bounds.

What do you need to flee? What thing do you think about, wish for, believe would fulfill you? Something probably pops into your mind pretty quickly. Ask God to show you if it’s crossing the line into idolatry.

If it is, don’t try to conquer it alone. Ask God to help you overcome it. Focus your thoughts intentionally toward a good truth of God’s loving presence in your life, and consider asking a friend to help you stay accountable.

Bible Reading Update:

Old Testament: Will be completed through Nehemiah tomorrow; Psalms is complete; In chapter 21 of Proverbs

New Testament: Completed through Chapter 10 of 1 Corinithians.

This week, read Esther Chapters 1 – 10; 1 Corinthians Chapters 11 – 13, and Proverbs 21:14 – 24

Leave a Reply

