Overcome

4 Aug

What words do you associate with ‘overcome’?

I think of defeated, overwhelmed, taken over, surrendered to. 

Recently, I grew very frustrated with a situation. I was overcome with my emotions. Though I knew truth, I knew God’s wisdom and desires are above my own, I still became subject to my circumstances and my emotions.

I cried. I cried for about two days. One type of frustration gave way to deeper sorrow of another thing that’s happened in my life this year.

My point is this. Once I crossed that line and dwelled on my emotions and my circumstances instead of on God’s word, love and provision, once I did that, I multiplied my pain, my heartache and my sorrow.

I allowed Satan to trick me into self-pity just a little and then I was overcome with those feelings.

No worries. I am all better now. I have confessed it to my Lord. I have prayed, read his Word and renewed my mind. I have overcome that evil with his good.

Romans 12:21 Do not be overcome by evil, but overcome evil with good.

Evil exists. Emotions and circumstances that displease us exist. Sin exists. Be sure our enemy, the devil, Satan, Lucipher, he exists also. But he is defeated by our Lord Jesus. We must continuously hold our thoughts and heart to God to be our shield and our wisdom. To overcome evil with his good.

Just like Peter who walked on the water, then had thoughts of worry which quickly plunged him into the waters, our loving Saviour will reach in and pull us up again.

2 Corinthians 10:5  We demolish arguments and every pretension that sets itself up against the knowledge of God, and we take captive every thought to make it obedient to Christ.

Leave a Reply

