Perfectionism and Control

8 Jan

“He holds victory in store for the upright” (Proverbs 2:7 NIV).

I’m a recovering perfectionist/performance addict. A few years ago, through sincere prayer and study, I became aware that my identity and worth were greatly tied to what I was doing or achieving. From career and family to bank accounts and scales. Most bothersome, it became obvious to me that I comforted myself with all the “good Christian ways” I kept while neglecting real growth. Relying on God to remove this huge burden of always trying to do the right thing, I developed a mantra to make myself watchful for this way of thinking. Each day, I’d say, “Being right is not who I am”.

I don’t have to be right because Christ’s righteousness is all over me through his sacrifice on the cross. A fine line often exists between wanting to please God and becoming reliant on yourself to do so, crossing over into pride.

Proverbs 2:7 reminds me who holds my victory (God) and who makes me upright (Christ).

How freeing! My life is a process, a pilgrimage toward God; not a product to weigh and measure. Not a string of decisions to worry over. I enjoy my life while I purposely work to know the one who holds my victory and makes me eligible for it.

Today’s Passages: Genesis 18:20 – 19:38; Matthew 6:25 – 7:14; Psalms 8:1 – 9; Proverbs 2: 6 – 15

Leave a Reply

