The Most Wanted or A Change of Heart?

16 Dec

It’s happened again. A change of heart from the time the list is written to the last few days before gifts are opened.

The most wanted thing changes.

You tell me. What is the most wanted item on this list?

Sorry. You’re not up to speed. The “most wanted” has changed to Earth HQ.  

“If you then, though you are evil, know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your Father in heaven give the Holy Spirit to those who ask him!  Luke 11:13  NIV”

The first portion of Luke 11 shows Jesus teaching the disciples to pray. What can we learn?

  • A model prayer (verses 1 – 4)
  • A parable encouraging persistence and boldness (verses 5 – 8 )
  • A declaration that if we ask, seek and know, we will receive, find and have it opened to us (verses 9 -10)
  • And the truth that God the Father gives in a superior way to any earthly father

But for what do we ask our heavenly Father to give? What does Jesus tell us He gives to those who ask?

The Holy Spirit.

How often do I pray boldly for the Holy Spirit to flood my thoughts? What does God see as most wanted when He looks upon my heart?

A. W. Tozer wrote in The Pursuit of God, “How tragic that we in this dark day have had our seeking done for us by our teachers. Everything is made to center upon the initial act of “accepting” Christ (a term, incidentally, which is not found in the Bible) and we are not expected thereafter to crave any further revelation of God to our souls.”

Our most wanted item should be this further revelation of God. His Holy Spirit enters a believer. Not to be stagnant. To burn, to consume, to create change.  

Lord, continue to create a craving in my heart for more of You. Overcome my own thoughts with your Spirit’s leading. Create the change only your gift of wisdom, comfort and guidance can bring. Be my most wanted!

8 Responses to “The Most Wanted or A Change of Heart?”

  1. Susan Stilwell December 16, 2011 at 8:21 pm #

    Oh wow, that A.W. Tozer is so right! Too many Christians are happy to be spoon fed from “professionals” and don’t realize (or care?) that the same Holy Spirit who reveals His Truth to the professionals will speak to them as well!!

    One thing I pray for my family is for us to have an insatiable hunger for His Word and a relentless pursuit of His Presence. You said it perfectly, Jeanette: Lord, Be my most wanted!

    • Jeanette Edgar December 16, 2011 at 9:32 pm #

      I spent way too many years complacent in my “acceptance” of Christ and being spoon-fed. Thank God for shaking me and waking me!

  2. Glenda Mills December 16, 2011 at 10:19 pm #

    Jeanette,

    I sometimes forget and need to be reminded about this great gift of God’s Holy Spirit. Thanks Jeanette for this beautiful reminder.

    • Jeanette Edgar December 16, 2011 at 11:01 pm #

      Thanks for commenting, Glenda.

  3. Erin Bladon December 18, 2011 at 8:24 pm #

    I find it very interesting that “accepting” Christ has become the way we explain Christianity to non-believers, yet the word “accept” is not found in the Bible.
    We are instead to long for the Holy Spirit to fill us, and to follow Jesus. Wonder why I forget to pray for the Holy Spirit to fill my thoughts? It would make all my other concerns so much simpler, my most wanted list would shrink for sure.

    • Jeanette Edgar December 19, 2011 at 2:02 am #

      Erin, I know! I fear we’ve watered it down to inviting Christ into our hearts when it’s really supposed to be us surrendering our hearts to His Lordship every single day. Thanks for joining the conversation :)

  4. verna December 18, 2011 at 10:45 pm #

    Thank you, Jeanette for this moving post — yes, we need to want His holiness heartdeep!

    • Jeanette Edgar December 19, 2011 at 2:03 am #

      Verna, I love that term “heartdeep.” That says so much.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

