When We Cannot Do What God Asks

13 Dec

Does God ever ask you to do something you cannot do?

I’m still reading Luke alongside Mom’s Toolbox and it’s been fabulous.

Over the weekend, I read Luke 6. I was reminded of a recent Sunday School lesson and something one of my friends pointed out in this chapter.

Jesus told the man with the shriveled hand–“Stretch out your hand.”  See Luke 6:10

The man shouldn’t have been able to do what Jesus asked. Yet, he did it.

How? Jesus provided the power.

Diseases were being cured and evil spirits cast out, “and the people all tried to touch him, because power was coming from him and healing them all.”  Luke 6:19

In verses 27 – 36, Jesus gives all of us instructions which on our own, we cannot do. Truth is, we often do not want to.

  • Love your enemies
  • Do good to those who curse you
  • Pray for those who mistreat you
  • Turn the other cheek
  • Give more than what someone takes from you
  • Give without expecting repayment

Without Jesus providing the power and strength, how can we do these things God asks of us? We cannot.

Lord, please give me a heart that longs to do what you ask. Remind me to pray and ask for the desire and obedience you provide to do what you ask. Thrill me with your pleasure and joy as you grow me in my walk with you.

4 Responses to “When We Cannot Do What God Asks”

  1. Glenda Mills December 13, 2011 at 5:34 pm #

    Well written Jeanette!
    Praise God for the l grace that empowers us to obey his commands. 2 Cor. 12: 9,10

    • Jeanette Edgar December 13, 2011 at 6:26 pm #

      What a beautiful fit those verses bring! Thanks for sharing those, Glenda.

  2. Susan December 15, 2011 at 3:42 pm #

    Love your site, Jeanette! Thanks so much for visiting mine and for the Twitter RT. Looking forward to getting to know you better. I think we’re kindred spirits in our Lord!!

    btw I’m counting on His power to do a lot of things today – my kids are coming home from college tomorrow!!

    • Jeanette Edgar December 15, 2011 at 8:23 pm #

      Thanks, Susan. I just finished having one of my new “hoodies” over. Enjoyed your blog so much today. Look forward to more.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

