To Do Lists and Purpose – Luke 4

9 Dec

Are you one of those people who starts each day with a to do list?  Most of the time I do, and if something gets done that’s not on the list, I write it down just so I can mark it off.

But, there are times when I don’t want a to do list. I like the idea of doing what I feel like doing.

No matter which scenario fits you best, most of us have something in common: We want a passion or purpose in our lives that is overarching – more than just the things to get done in a day.

In Luke 4 (continuing the plan to read all of Luke through December), I see Jesus focused on his purpose.

But he said, “I must preach the good news of the kingdom of God to the other towns also, because that is why I was sent.”  Luke 4:43 NIV

How did he know? Yes, he’s Jesus so we can say that’s how he knew. Fair enough. But, we also see a model of how we can know.

  • He was led by and followed the Holy Spirit (in this case, into the desert)
  • He fasted and prayed
  • He fought the devil with word of God (which happens to be the sword of the Spirit, see Ephesians 6:17)
  • He contitnued to get alone in a solitary place to pray
  • He was not swayed by what men wanted him to do

Jesus was on a mission. As we read the continued story of his life, the season of his mission changed. For a time, he preached. Later, a time came when he sacrificed himself on a cross. Then the precious day came when he arose. For now, he sits at the Father’s right hand in heaven, interceeding for us, until God sends him to earth as judge.

So what’s this mean for us?

We should expect our purpose to have seasons of doing different things. In order to know what they are, we need to follow Christ’s example from Luke 4.

God, help me to focus on you. To get still and listen, to be led by your Spirit. Interrupt my plans for life and my very days with your assignments. Give me courage to then follow, relying on your strength.

What’s your biggest challenge in being focused on God’s desires for you?   Does each day’s to do list relate to your purpose?

6 Responses to “To Do Lists and Purpose – Luke 4”

  1. Amy @ MomsToolbox December 9, 2011 at 3:11 pm #

    This is awesome!
    I allow myself to get so distracted by things that look good, but yet they may not be what God has intended for me to do right then.
    It’s important to prepare ourselves, listen and then act, as Luke shared with us today.
    Thanks for reading with me and also sharing your thoughts.

    • Jeanette Edgar December 9, 2011 at 4:37 pm #

      Amy, I’m so enjoying the walk through Luke and following your posts. Your right, the distractions aren’t always bad things, often they appear valuable. But moving in our own way of thinking is a distraction itself, no? Thanks for stopping by and commenting.

  2. Lynn December 9, 2011 at 3:46 pm #

    Interrupt my plans for life and my very days with your assignments – wow! What a great prayer. I, too (continuing our theme of being separated at birth!) have been known to add completed things to my list just for the pleasure of marking them off. And I think “My” list and “My” determination to finish it is the thing that gets in the way of following the Holy Spirit’s promptings. I try to start each day surrendered, but I often have to re-surrender every hour or so. Sometimes it’s every few minutes!

    Thanks for this great reminder!

    • Jeanette Edgar December 9, 2011 at 4:23 pm #

      I understand the re-surrendering! We must not ever let our husbands meet. They’d compare notes on us. :)

  3. clajgrayLori December 9, 2011 at 3:54 pm #

    Wow! That was timely! I’m going through this process. What have I been doing that is working and what isn’t? I’m finding it hard for me to “let go” of the seasons when they are finished…not sure why.
    Thank you for the insights!!!

    • Jeanette Edgar December 9, 2011 at 4:27 pm #

      Thanks so much for your comment. I relate to not being good at letting go of things, even when I feel God telling me to. Sometimes I worry too much about who it will affect, letting someone down, etc. Or it’s just something I’ve plained loved doing — do I have to stop? Your comment reminded me of a blog post I read by a ministry leader I know. I have not read the book, but she highly recommends it. Thought you might be interested in what she had to say. http://www.choosetosoar.net/blog/page/6/

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

